Author Topic: One tip for learning tricks  (Read 12856 times)

Offline ckcheong

• Hitchhiker
One tip for learning tricks
« on: January 06, 2012, 03:27:10 PM »
well...I am a rookie who rode for about 2 years....but i am really furstrating as the tricks are hard as hell
i just suggested everyone to post a little general tips here to help others (actually others means myself)
I start first....
roll slower is easier to catch the feeling of balance

Offline alkis

• Backpacker
Re: One tip for learning tricks
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2012, 03:33:30 PM »
Just enjoy riding,
Thats my  number one rule :beer: :beer: :beer:

Offline 2flat2furious

• GF Inhabitant
« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2012, 06:29:48 PM »
Actually I would say this is an awful tip that nobody should follow.

Tell me which is easier: Rolling very slowly on your bike with both feet on the pedals, or rolling at a normal medium speed with both feet on the pedals.

There ya go.

Offline thestraw

• Backpacker
« Reply #3 on: January 06, 2012, 08:40:58 PM »
i gotta agree w/ TJ on this one, you don't have to go fast as hell, but going too slow is not the easiest way to learn tricks, i think a medium pace is a good place for beginners.  i believe a minimum of 2 hours of focused practice a day, video-ing one self and having as much fun as this tedious activity allows is your key to success in today's modern, fast paced flatland world.  my mom thinks my 'hobby' would be maddening to do
« Last Edit: January 06, 2012, 11:31:02 PM by thestraw »

Offline Cyborg

• Funky Chicken
« Reply #4 on: January 06, 2012, 08:59:42 PM »
I always like what Chad Degroot said in the Props How To video. If you are having a hard time with a trick, just change something, like different foot, bars backwards, other side of bike, backwards etc. Experimentation leads to success.

Offline datisstom

• Backpacker
« Reply #5 on: January 07, 2012, 01:15:50 AM »